i’m a mom!

Sometimes life looks different than we ever thought it would.
When I was little, I never dreamed, imagined, or thought about living in Africa.
But, now I do.

Now that I live in Uganda,
there are things within my daily life that I would have never imagined before.
But now, these things have become normal.

photo-2
view from my bedroom window…momma and her chicks, garbage pile, sugar cane, maize, pig pen, and so much more:)

 

When I am I sitting in the office at school and a parent comes in, many times the office assistant informs them that I know Luganda, so I can “impress” the parent with my skills (or lack there of).  Today that even included one mom grabbing my butt, and a couple other places, to see if I knew ALL of the body parts in Luganda.  I can’t fathom a parent touching me in America, but here, it didn’t surprise me at all.

photo-3
some of my many Luganda notes from my lessons

 

SInce being here, I’ve basically become a mom, to many children.  Almost every night, I help with homework here at the house.  Today was basically parent-teacher conferences; I was a stand-in parent for one of the kids I live with.  Just here at the house, I have helped to sew clothes for the kids, break up fights, and fix wounds.  I didn’t move to Africa expecting to be a mom, but that’s become a part of my life.

photo-2
progress report from the school

 

Some other randoms that have become normal to my life here:
-Having 3 cockroaches scramble when I open the bathroom door
-Wiping the nose of a snotty 3 year old as she is sleeping on my lap
-Not seeing any other white person for over one month [but Chandler came back this week!]
-When people greet you with a hug, their hand tends to lingers on your stomach or butt for much longer than “normal” in American standards
-Chasing chickens out of the kitchen is a regular occurrence
-Having conversations with adults, while kids are jumping on or pulling at me and whispering in my ears (in Luganda and English)
-People of all ages (and both genders) being fascinated with and wanting to brush my hair

Photo on 2-2-13 at 5.40 PM #2
having fun with Joet


It’s ok that life is different than expected.
In fact that can be a good thing.
I may not have thought about being in Africa when I was little,
but I can’t imagine not being in Mukono at this time.
much love!

One thought on “i’m a mom!

Leave a Reply

