journaling happiness

I love the sound of rain…good thing for me it’s rainy season and I have malaria again; so yesterday and today I’ve been resting and enjoying the sound of the rain.

The sound of rain makes me think about my happy journal.
Have any of you ever heard of a happy journal?

One of my friends introduced me to the idea of one when I was in High School.
Your journal can be as simple or complex as you want.

Mine is usually one word lists, food, inside jokes, random phrases, and memories that make me smile.
Basically anything that makes you happy.

Today, I thought I would share some things from my happy journal:

-the way all the kids here shout and dance when the power comes back on
-hearing and seeing Baby class sing, “Shake-shake the mango tree…”
-jack-fruit

photo-5
this is jack-fruit…i wish i could describe the taste, but there is no comparison

 

-how hard and long it down-pours (it amazes me)
-cooking chilli for the family
-the animals seen while on a long bus ride
-talking with Kata every night until she goes to sleep

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
with Kata

 

seeing all the changes taking place here
-watching the kids in Baby class learn
-katogo [cassava cooked with beans]
-Skyping with Amy and Samara at the same time

 

Short and simple, these are just a few of the many things in my happy journal recently.
What would you put in your happy journal?

 

much love!

5 thoughts on “journaling happiness

  1. Hearing from my Bethany Lynn and Emily Marie.  Hearing the wind high in the trees and the sounds of Nature while working outside.  Getting to work outside.  Cooking favorites when my girls come home!!  Love you, Sweetie!  Love, Mommy

    ________________________________

  2. I like your happy journal..
    Maybe El walking up with my iPad saying “more Beth-nee please” 😀
    Also K napping on me, fresh donuts/cider, and swimming in Oct 🙂
    Love you!

  3. Bethany,
    I love seeing your posts! So encouraging! I am thinking of going into missions once i am done with my degree and it is so exciting to see what you are doing!!
    With much Love and Prayer
    ~Becka

Leave a Reply

