i am Ugandan

Pastor and I were talking one time about when I have the opportunity to drive again and I do something by mistake; he said  I’ll look at the person and say, “Excuse me, I may look American on the outside, but on the inside I am Ugandan.”

Sometimes, communication [or lack there of] around here drives me nuts.  Other times, I want to do more things the Ugandan way.
They have this way of not sharing information about people having babies, getting married, going on trips,  or moving, until it has happened.

This is one time I would want to say, “Excuse me, I may look American, but I am Ugandan on the inside.”
But, I know that I American, and communication is important.

Over two years ago God started speaking to me about coming back to Uganda.  I was to come back here with no agenda, no plans; just to live life here and trust Him.  Well, I am so thankful I did that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
with my little Lytone

 

Two years or so after telling me to come here, God started telling me it’s time for me to leave.
Did I want to listen?  No.
Do I need to listen and obey?  Yes

How do I leave here without seeing this amazing Hallelujah Project [the library / classroom building] finished?  I have to trust that God knows what He is doing.
And just because I am leaving, doesn’t mean that the vision isn’t going to come to fruition.

Leaving here for me is similar to when I came; when I leave at the end of December I am having to fully trust that God has a plan that is much bigger than anything we can understand.
As I step onto the plane departing from Entebbe, Uganda, I know where it will be taking me, but I don’t know what’s next in my journey.  Only God does.

This has become my home and these have become my friends and family.  I might be leaving here physically, but part of my heart will always be here.

 

much love

8 thoughts on “i am Ugandan

  1. 🙂
    crying.
    imagine that.
    i love you.
    i am so proud of you.
    excited for your next journey.
    & believing with you that He’s got it all taken care of already.
    love you my sweet Basney.

    ~Suminta

  2. B!!!! I’m so proud of you! It’s been so amazing to see your journey and time spent in Uganda! I’m excited to see what’s next for you and what incredible BIG things are to follow. Love you!

  3. I’m in the same place Bethany, I haven’t announced it officially yet, but I’m leaving Costa Rica in January and it’s super weird and hard. I love that you listen to the Lord no matter what and obey His plans for you! Maybe I’ll see you around America 🙂

Leave a Reply

