out of Africa

The last few days have been a mix of emotions.
Right now I don’t have adequate words.
Will I ever?  I don’t know.

Thursday evening I had to say goodbye to my family and friends as I left my community in Mukono.
Even though I knew the day was coming,
it was still hard.

There had been time to prepare and time to say goodbye; there was even a party on Sunday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
being carried into the church for the party

 

As I got onto the plane in Uganda, on my way to Europe, I slept.
To be honest, if I hadn’t slept the whole time, if I had let myself think, there is a good chance I would have cried most of the way to Ethiopia.

I say that, because once I was awake and more functional in Ethiopia, I started to think.
And the thinking made tears well up in my eyes.
But the thinking doesn’t really get too far at this point.
I’m going to miss the people I have been doing life with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
with Elizabeth, my mom in Mukono

 

I’m going to miss the food.
I’m going to miss the way of life.
There is much more to this, but these are some of the basics.
But, I am in Europe now; thinking, pining, or tears won’t change that fact.

Yesterday we took a day trip to France to go to a Christmas market; which was a cool experience!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Matt, Shelly, me and Zarah on the train on our way back to Germany

 

It was hard to leave Uganda.
But, I am enjoying being with other Americans; that’s quite the change for me:)

 

much love!

3 thoughts on “out of Africa

Leave a Reply

