i made it

Before, I had mentioned that me getting this job and preparing to go to Korea was a whirlwind.  Well, leaving America was no different!

I had been waiting for my visa, in order for a ticket to be purchased so I could leave for Korea. Tuesday afternoon, my passport with my Korean visa was back in my possession.  That night, my ticket was purchased for Thursday afternoon.
Wednesday, I finished packing, while it kind of sunk-in that I was flying half way across the world the next day.
Thursday morning, one of my friends took me to the airport, then I spent the next 24 hours or so traveling to my new home in Daegu.

image1
waiting for my bus to Daegu at the Incheon airport Friday night

 

image3on the bus – yes, I need sleep!

 

image2and when you need sleep, sometimes the fisheye camera and funny faces come out:)

 

Saturday, we had orientation, all day.  I thought it was going to be orientation for the teachers, turns out it was orientation for the parents about this upcoming school year.  In the morning it was parents who have been with the school before; after lunch we had the same program all over again for parents new to the school.

I might still feel a little lost and like I have no idea what is going on, but slowly by slowly that feeling is dissipating.

It has been good to meet my fellow teachers and to get a little bit better understanding of what the school is like.  Also, to unpack and make this room feel a little bit like home.

image4
my room

 

image5the view from my room

 

much love!

 

One thought on “i made it

  1. GOD is so good! He knew all along everything would work out for you. Your room looks nice…big refrigerator. Did you have to pack linens & pillow along with all your clothes? You are amazing. I pray you will find great friendships with the other teachers. New beginnings, new adventures, new calling and new children to love. My prayer for you today…May God continue to wrap his arms around you, giving you peace, strength, energy and calm. Enjoy your new home. Love and God’s blessings, Jan Pollock :o)

Leave a Reply

